Early-Morning Explorations

Standard

This morning, around 4:30am, it became obvious that I would NOT be going back to sleep.  After I got up and cooked breakfast, I noticed how beautiful the fog looked with the sun creeping up behind the trees.  Once I finished my coffee and gathered the gumption to go out into the cold, I was most certainly glad that I did.  There is really nothing like an autumn sunrise over a soybean field.

one prominent tree

There are two old barns on the property where I live and they are filled with a myriad of old things.

side view front barn

Some of these things are, to put it lightly, junk.

in the back barn

Other things, however, have a romantic, rusty charm to them.

cash register serial number

Defiance

As you can see, I have a “thing” for a sepia filter.

silo

Places like this have a sort of haunting allure about them.  I like to be right in the middle of all of that feeling, capturing as much as I can – usually with the camera on my phone.

hog stall perspective shot

It can be so nice to disappear in abandoned or partially-abandoned places like this for a little while.  When the present world around us becomes too depressing, it’s nice to know that there are still silent havens for people like me out there.  The older I get, the more I believe that I was born in the wrong time.  When I poke around in places like this, I feel like I have a chance to visit with the ghost of days gone by and I am here to tell you that these places are simply waiting for someone with the courage and curiosity to show the world that the forgotten beauty is still there.

About PerceivingALife

Poverty is hard but it doesn't have to be all doom-and-gloom. This blog is dedicated to telling the story of one young lady who is doing her best to live life below The Line. Don't forget to like, comment, and subscribe for continued content and be sure to check out all of the social media links and other contact information listed here. YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCEUt8UU9777H3md-E8Tn1Mg Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PerceivingALife Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/PerceivingALife Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/PerceivingALife Blog: https://www.perceivingalife.wordpress.com Contact By Mail: Perceiving A Life PO Box 154 Lafayette, IN 47904 Contact By Email: perceivingalife@gmail.com

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: The Chair. (Dun, dun, DUNNN!) | Perceiving a Life

Leave a Reply

